Oel ScholarshipsThe Ontario Electrical League has awarded five Bob Dyer/OEL Scholarships of $500 each to Ontario electrical apprentices under Electro-Federation Canada (EFC)’s 2015 scholarship program:

• Perry Blanchard,Fanshawe College
• Trevor Cairns, Durham College
• Kevin Forbes,Fleming College
• Daniel Lefaive,Georgian College
• David Thompson,Mohawk College

The electrical apprenticeship scholarships are awarded in memory of Bob Dyer, a long-time OEL board member, past Chair (1995) and Chapter member. These scholarships are awarded to apprentices who have, within the last 12 months, completed any of the levels of schooling at an approved Ontario College Electrical Apprenticeship program, with at least a 75% average. They must also be an OEL member company employee or an immediate relative of an OEL member company employee.

The OEL scholarships are part of EFC’s national scholarship program.This year the program is providing52 scholarships with a total value of $120,500.

Engaging university and college students is critical to our industry, says Joris Myny, Chair of Electro-Federation Canada (EFC)’s scholarship program and a senior vice president of Siemens Canada Limited. Myny describes the scholarship program as more than funding students. “It is an opportunity to promote our industry in every Canadian university and college and showcase the electrical industry as a viable career choice in Engineering, Sales, Marketing, Finance, Management, Operations, Information Technology and Human Resources.”