12 Students Honoured with Hydro One’s Leonard S. (Tony) Mandamin Scholarships

Mandamin Winners 2015

In celebration of National Aboriginal Day, Hydro One recently recognized 12 outstanding students selected for the Leonard S. (Tony) Mandamin Scholarship. The scholarship, named in recognition of the Honourable Justice Leonard S. (Tony) Mandamin, is granted annually to First Nations, Métis and Inuit post-secondary students.

“Hydro One recognizes the excellence of First Nations, Metis and Inuit students in their studies in addition to their commitment to volunteering and involvement in their community,” said Judy McKellar, SVP People & Culture, Health & Safety, Hydro One. “The Leonard S. (Tony) Mandamin Scholarship is one of the ways Hydro One supports and encourages students to stay in school and explore opportunities within the electricity industry.”

This year’s scholarship recipients are…

Apollo Blackeagle, Walpole Island First Nation, Forestry Technician, Anishinabek Educational Institute –Fleming College
Brianna Sands, Walpole Island First Nation, Environmental Studies, University of Windsor
Cameron Hartman, Métis, Electrical Engineering, University of Ottawa
Curtis Roote, Saugeen First Nation, Electrical Engineering Technology, Mohawk College
Darrell Brown, Saugeen First Nation, Electrical Engineering Technology, Georgian College
David Young, Garden River First Nation, Environmental and Resource Science, University of Trent
Isabelle Males, Timiskaming First Nation, Environmental Science, University of Guelph
Joey Giguere, Aroland First Nation, Instrumentation Engineering and Control Technician, Confederation College
Marcus Metatawabin, Moose Cree First Nation, Powerline Technician, Cambrian College
Naomi Sayers, Garden River First Nation, Common Law, University of Ottawa
Shadrak Gobért, Frog Lake First Nation, Environmental Studies, University of Toronto
Thomas Lambert, Dokis First Nation, Electrical Engineering Technician, Cambrian College

Each year, up to 15 scholarships are available to students enrolled in electricity related programs. Scholarship recipients are granted a financial award in the amount of $5,000 and those eligible may have an opportunity to complete a paid developmental work term with Hydro One. Interested students can visit www.HydroOne.com/MandaminScholarship to learn more and apply.

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Changing Scene